## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS

HELD: December 11, 1989

## THE STATE OF TEXAS

## FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

## COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

ON THIS the 11<sup>th</sup> day of December 1989, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in REGULAR SESSION at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the East side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

ELWYN CARR PRESIDENT
KENNETH JAGGERS VICE PRESIDENT
EDSON REYNOLDS SECRETARY
BILLY JORDAN DIRECTOR
O. R. HENRY DIRECTOR

and with the following members absent: None.

Also present were James Clark, M. K. Osborn, Bob and Sonya Dickson, Jack Mills, Mary Adams, John and Ann Richards, Wanda Stalling, John and Betty Pendergrass, Eulaine Hall, Logan Shewmake, Mike Willis, Mr. And Mrs. M. P. Rutledge, Vic Hunter, Walt Sears, John Rainey, Lillie Bush, Trisha Kuhl, Cliff StClair, Jim Davis Perritt, E. C. Withers, and Shirley Maples.

The President called the meeting to order, declared a quorum present, and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

NOTICE of this meeting was given, stating the time, place, and purpose, all as required by Vernon's Civil Statutes, Article 6252-17.

Invocation was given by Billy Jordan.

The MINUTES of November 13 were read and approved.

The President opened the bids for the Admissions Contract as follows:

Gerald Allen Water 23%

Sharon Boyd 21% plus camper site

Logan Shewmake 18% Robert H. Ramey 20%

Robert H. Ramey 15 ½ plus insurance

Bill Hill 25 ½% Mary H. Dawson 19.9%

After considerable discussion, Mr. Jordan made a statement of appreciation for the visitors and their input into the meeting in their praise and appreciation of Jean Patterson and the job she had done. He also praised Jean for the work she has done during the period of her contract. He stated that he felt the members of the Board were elected by the people of this county and that the Board must act responsibly in their endeavor to operate the Water District in the best interests of the people of the Franklin County. Mr. Jordan then made a MOTION that the Board go ahead with what it set out to do on the advise of the management and the attorney, because this is what the Board is elected to do, and accept the lowest bid which is Mr. Shewmake's bid of 18%. The motion was

SECONDED by Kenneth Jaggers. The President put the question and, after considerable discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

MOTION was made by O. R. Henry, and SECONDED by Kenneth Jaggers, to ratify action taken in paying bills since the last meeting. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A list of the bills is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

Mike Willis advised the Board that he is not prepared to present his plans but should be ready by the January meeting.

MOTION was made by Kenneth Jaggers, and SECONDED by O. R. Henry, to approve the Status Report for the Texas Water Commission. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A copy of the report is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

MOTION was made by Kenneth Jaggers, and SECONDED by Billy Jordan, to adopt a Resolution accepting the Reinvestment Zone. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". The Resolution is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

MOTION was made by Billy Jordan, and SECONDE by O. R. Henry, to adopt a policy whereby the Franklin County Water District will seek to impose a fine of not more than \$200.00 for each violation of the single family residential restriction, if any. If violations persist, the Franklin County Water District will seek injunctive relief or termination of the lease or both. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

MOTION was made by Edson Reynolds, and SECONDED by O. R. Henry, to amend the holiday schedule for the Christmas holiday. Instead of closing the office on December 22 and 25, the office will be closed on December 25 and 26. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE. NONE voted "NO".

Manager Withers advised the Board that the Guthrie Boat Ramp project has been approved, and the District will proceed as soon as the signed Contract is received from Texas Parks and Wildlife.

The Manager further reported that D. F. Rhodes would like to dedicate the Sandy Acres Boat Ramp to the District as a public ramp.

The Manager is to research the matter and bring it back to the Board at the next meeting.

The Board was advised that Texas Parks and Wildlife is instituting a program whereby they will be funding 50% on hydrilla treatment.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

MINUTES approved this the 8<sup>th</sup> day of January 1990.

Elwyn Carr, President Kenneth Jaggers, Vice President Edson Reynolds, Secretary Billy M. Jordan, Director O. R. Henry, Director